Allgemein

May wrap-up // Welcome to social media

Hey, guys!

After having completely forgotten about my April wrap-up, I’m starting to write this post hoping that this month will be better. At the same time I’m still kinda drifting and not exactly sure what happened in May besides a few things:

♣️ I started a twitter account! It’s a great way to find new blogs and meet new people. 🙂 I’m still learning the ropes but I’d be very happy if you stop by and visit. https://twitter.com/_tirilu

♣️ I also revived my Instagram account. It felt weird going back there after the hiatus and I’m still not really back to regular posting. I don’t have the routine anymore/yet.

♣️ My birthday was on the 13th. I’m mature 28 years now and don’t feel any different. It was a normal day with normal work, steak for dinner, and two new books. Since everything was still locked down on the 13th we weren’t able to go anywhere or for my family to spend proper time together but I think that just makes me look forward to next year more. And makes me appreciate the time I spend with them more.

♣️ The quarantine ended. I’m glad, there is something like normalcy coming back. Of course you have to wear masks everywhere and stuff is still closed and you have to follow certain rules but all in all it’s better. If you’re still in quarantine, I just wanna tell you that it will indeed get better. Hang in there.

That’s about it. I can’t really think of anything more.

Okay, I be prepared for a lot of books coming in this section since I actually went a little crazy with the ebook deals. 😅

39884337

Tristan Strong punches a hole in the sky by Kwame Mbalia

Have I raved about the fact that I’m totally in love with the Rick Riordan Presents books often enough yet? Probably not. I’m really curious about that one and have heard so much great things. It was also a birthday present from my mum this year, so I already treasure it greatly.


40773435. sy475

A darkness of dragons by S.A. Patrick

When he asked me what I wanted for my birthday, I gave my boyfriend a list of three books to chose from and he picked this one. It also came with a silly love note and I’m crying just thinking about it. I’ve already started it and I quite like it.


32946432. sx318

Tilly and the bookwanderers by Anna James

I joined the Middle Grade Marvels bookclub in May and this was the BOTM.

We will not talk about how I didn’t quite realise that there was a twitter chat going on and was wondering why it was so quiet and nobody talked in the bookclub.


19229818. sy475

A monster calls by Patrick Ness

I’m just really curious about this book. I know it was really popular a while ago but I’m me and I’m always late to the hype party.


22206804

The complete Septimus Heap collection by Angie Sage

Is it reckless to buy a 9-book collection when you have no idea if you might like it? Is it still reckless when it’s only €4,99? I have heard so much about it and I was so curious and I couldn’t resist.


40193772. sx318

The Train to impossible places by P.G. Bell

Let’s call a spade a spade, I totally fell into the ebook-hole in May. I bought so many books. Soo many books. This one I have already started though. I love Wilmot.


50814244. sx318 sy475

The great brain robbery by P.G. Bell

Another one of those ebook shopping spree buys.


33832945. sy475

The house with chicken legs by Sophie Anderson

I mean, the question is can you ever have too many Middlegrade books? I don’t think so. And I don’t know enough about Baba Yagas. It’s totally legit that I bought it.


38749835. sy475

A Pinch of Magic by Michelle Harrison

Michelle Harrison is the bomb and this book was free. Free I say. Do not judge me.


43159592. sy475

The lost magician by Piers Torday

Can…can we just accept that Piers Torday is a master storyteller and move on?


52700752. sx318 sy475

The frozen sea by Piers Torday

Fun fact, I fell in love with this cover first before I realized that it’s a sequel. I mean…preeeettttyyyy.


27827627. sy475

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

It just sounds so interesting. I love fairytales and fairytale vibes.


28186322

A Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn

I feel like I wanna give the genre one last chance before I get totally desillusioned with it. Maybe this one will be fun.


41079169. sy475

The garden of lost secrets by A.M. Howell

I get major Secret Garden vibes from this one. I can’t wait to read it and I have high hopes for it. I hope I don’t get disappointed.


46123742

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

I might not be very fond of travelling myself but that’s what books are for, right? It also looks amazing, sounds funny and the blurb says “for fans of Nevermoor and The train to impossible places”.


43521682

The Bone Ships by RJ Barker

Totally unrelated question: Are seaserpents and water dragons definitely related? Or two different things. I might be lying if i said that I didn’t buy that one for the cover.


34828626. sy475

A place called Perfect by Helena Duggan

Almost forgot this one since I’m already done with it. That reminds me that I should start working on the review stat.

I probably forgot something, didn’t I? I should have made a haul post. Damn.

I have to admit, there is a tiny part of me that’s jealous of those people that manage to read 10+ books a month. I mean, what even is this sorcery. Then again, I have my own speed and this month it has been – she starts mumbling while she is flipping pages of her journal, frowns and logs into Goodreads – five books!

29939780. sy475

Cogheart by Peter Bunzl

It had been on my tbr for too long. And now I’ve finally read it. All I still have to do is write a review. Yay.


52062833

Otto Tattercoat and the forest of lost things by Matilda Woods

Fun fact, this is the cover the website shows. The cover many of you have complimented looks actually a little different. 😀


48648735

The Witches of Willow Cove by Josh Roberts

My very first Read Now arc from Netgalley! I was so happy to read it. And it’s so pretty. And the review is done too. Yippieh!!


40645658

Song for a Whale by Lynne Kelly

A special book that I especially loved in the beginning. I still have to write the review and still think about it.


34828626. sy475

A place called Perfect by Helena Duggan

An interesting book. The review also still has to be written but it was a rather fast read. 🙂

On other news, I took part in this years Believathon II which I absolutely adored. I loved the promts, I loved how supportive and excited everybody was. So many Middlegrade books have been read. It was sheer joy.

This was the map:

Like everyone else, I started at the Poachers Pocket Inn that had me reading the first book in a series. I chose Cogheart by Peter Bunzl because it had been on my tbr for too long.
From there I ventured to the Wonderfalls which asked for a book with a character with a disability. Song for a Whale by Lynne Kelly fit the bill.
Instead of hiking through the Deepwoods, I decided to swim in the Mermaids’ Lagoon which had me reading a book with a female bond. The Witches of Willow Cove by Josh Roberts was perfect for that.

Unfortunately I didn’t get any farther than that but I loved it so much. Thank you so much for organizing this, Gav!

I have written three reviews this month. Look at me go. 😂

It might surprise you but I have also written some other posts. Shocking, isn’t it? I’m so glad that I’m back to posting on my blog, it makes me so happy.

Linked in with the Top Ten Tueday:

Linked in with WWW Wednesday:

MG Takes on Thursday:

MG Takes on Thursday // cats and birds and frogs and magic

Did I really only do one in May? Okay, that has to improve.

That’s a wrap. With chicken strips. I think. Please, I’m hungry, let me go home and don’t talk about food. You can also be super proud of me that I have already finished this. Usually you wouldn’t see this before the middle of the month. Or at all. I haven’t posted a wrap-up in April and am gloriously annoyed with myself about it.

Anyway, does anybody wanna chat? Do you know the books on my list?

7 thoughts on “May wrap-up // Welcome to social media

  1. Yaaay, Twitter! Welcome to the chaos. Happy belated birthday! I feel like the older you get, the less exciting it is lol. Except for the cake. Was there cake? That’s honestly the only reason to have birthdays anymore. It’s always a good excuse for cake.

    I’ve never heard of A Darkness of Dragons before, but that’s obviously going on my TBR now. Obviously. I hope you love Tristan Strong! And A Monster Calls is fabulous, but you will need tissues and maybe super glue to piece your soul back together. I got Bone Ships last month, toooo! I’ve heard it’s really good. :3

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sammie, I‘m about 150 pages in and I absolutely love it. It‘s a retelling of the Pied Piper, the world-building is great and also dragons and magic and I‘m gonna yell at you about it until you read it. It’s amazing. 😍😍😍
      Thanks, and no there was no cake. We also kinda burned dinner. Yeah, it was rather a fail foodwise. 😅

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You had me at dragons. I mean, it was really that easy. You didn’t have to add all that other stuff (though it sounds good, too). xD

        No cake is blasphemy. You deserve cake. Also maybe not burnt food, but hey, you know that happens. If there’d been cake, there still would’ve been unburnt food, that’s all I’m saying. 😛

        Like

Let's chat!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.